Awards and Recognition

In addition to a Student Report, each student that participates receives a Certificate which is awarded on the following basis:

High Distinction Certificate the top 1% of participants
Distinction Certificate the next 10% of participants
Credit Certificate the next 25% of participants
Merit Certificate the next 10% of participants
Participation Certificate for all remaining participants
Achievement Certificate Teachers may wish to award this certificate to students who have made progress that may not have been recognised otherwise. Achievement Certificates can be downloaded from an individual school's secure online reporting website. The awarding of Achievement Certificates is entirely at the discretion of schools.

The percentages allocated to awards are approximate and will vary according to the number of students taking each test and the distribution of their scores.

University of New South Wales (UNSW) Medals

UNSW medalStudents with the top score in each subject in each year level are awarded a medal and a medal winner’s certificate. It should be noted that students must have written the relevant assessment on the official ICAS sitting date and the result must be judged as sufficiently meritorious to be eligible for a UNSW medal.

Medal Presentation Ceremony

Gold Medal will be awarded for the top scorer students in the country. The Silver and Bronze Medal have been scrapped and accordance with ICAS International standards.

Medal presentation ceremony are held annually in Jakarta. This ceremony is held in November/December to publically acknowledge, encourage and reward students’ academic achievements. Medals are presented to students in each year level in the core areas of Digital Technologies, English, Mathematics, Science, and Writing. Photographs of the medal winners will be available 1 – 3 weeks after each medal presentation ceremony.